Mac's Musings

Everything from creative writing to tech today!

In the coming days…


So I will be participating in NaNoWriMo once again.

For those of you who don’t know what that means, here’s the site: http://nanowrimo.org

NaNoWriMo stands for National Novel Writer’s Month.  It’s a time when novel writers and those aspiring to become such, dust of their brain to try and to finally start and finish that novel idea that has been rolling around in their head for God only knows how long.

And I will be one of those that tries. The goal is write 50,000 words in a month which equates to about 170 to 200 pages, a novel.  I’ve participated the last 2 years and have completed 30,000+ words on my novel, though 50,000 won’t be enough.  So my book will be a wee bit longer. 😀

Anyway, the book I will be continuing, and fingers crossed finishing, will be The Eye of Elianah.  I’ve really come to like this book but I’ve still got a ways to go and some revising to do on it.  But the revising is to come later.  During the month of November you should just write and not worry about how grotesque the writing looks.  Just get the idea out.  And once November is over?  Revise the hell out of that thing. 😀

I’m shooting for 50,000 words to add to my current 30,000 words.  That’s going to mean some late nights and early days as I have a full time job and we’ll be deploying our main project that is crucial for our team…  Which will also mean, my posting will be minimal.

I’m going to make a promise to myself that the only way I get to post to my blog is if I maintain my goals, i.e. writing 1700 words a day…  Which could mean a month without posts… But I will do my best guys and girls.  So I apologized in advanced if I disappear off the face of the earth again.  I will return, eventually…

And I will leave you now with my profile on the NaNoWriMo site where you can see the information regarding the book I’m writing and an excerpt: http://nanowrimo.org/participants/macwilson

Wish me luck!!  And I MUST finish this book this year.  I MUST!!

5 comments on “In the coming days…

  1. Kate M. Colby
    October 21, 2014

    Best of luck with your NaNoWriMo goals! I think its cool that you are using NaNo to continue a previous project. Hopefully you can get it done this year! As for me, I will be doing my first NaNo with a previously-unexplored novel idea, and like you, I will be writing while working a full time job. Sometimes I think we NaNo-ers are crazy, but at least we’re crazy together. Good luck!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Mac
      October 21, 2014

      Thank you, I’m kind of worried about doing NaNo this year because I’m doing a lot more this year than I have in the previous years.

      I’ve got my job of course, but I’ve also got the blog that I’m trying to do better about keeping up with, and my charm making that I’ve been doing recently, and along with the blog the new post series I’ve started recently: Shadow’s Fall… Eck.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Kate M. Colby
        October 21, 2014

        One thing I’m trying to do with my blog is write as many posts as I can before November. That way, I can schedule them in advance and let it run itself a little bit. Plus, the excess blog writing is good practice for adjusting my schedule to a more rigorous writing routine.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Mac
        October 21, 2014

        Ah right. Forgot about that… But some of the next posts I want to do will require some research first. Ectogenesis… 😀

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Maria
    October 28, 2014

    Good luck pretty girl. I’d love to see your name on a best sellers list one day!

    Like

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 21, 2014 by in Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

Goodreads

Blog Posts

October 2014
S M T W T F S
« Sep   Jan »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 368 other followers

