Mac's Musings

Everything from creative writing to tech today!

Welcome to the Future…


…it’s time for me take back mine. 😀

I ended 2014 at 187.8 lbs, with 3 unfinished books, countless unfinished side stories, my challenge incomplete, my blog barely posted to, no educational certifications, and in debt.

So guess what my New Year Resolutions will be? 😀

1. Finish The Eye of Elianah BEFORE November (NaNoWriMo)
2. Lose 50 – 60 lbs
3. Finish 2 stories, aside from my book
4 Get certified as a DBD, DBA at the least (My job is as a DBD though. :P)
5. Post to my blog once a week (Twice if I’m feeling froggy. :D)
6. Do Twitch broadcast once a week
7. Get everything set up for my Charm making hobby.
8. Get rid of some/all of my debt
9. Be more active in the Tech and Women in Tech communities
10. Be more independent
11. Take a day out for me each month

I’ve been writing a book titled The Eye of Elianah.  I’m determined to finish it BEFORE November so that I could work on it’s sequel or finish one of my other books that I’v been thinking about or working on.

As I said before, I’m starting this year at 187.8.  I’m overweight…  But that needs to change.  I want to be a better version of me, as my step-father put it. So I need to get on the road to slimming down.  I’m tired of waking up in the morning seeing that extra bit on my waist and thighs.  It’s depressing.  I saw a picture of me dancing once… I was revolted.  Even if I don’t hit my goal I will be on the path for it.  I have to do it.  I know I can look better than I do now.

The finishing 2 stories aside from my book… It’s a guilty pleasure that I indulge in once-in-a-while and it’s on a separate blog, because not everyone likes fanfiction.  There I said it. 😀  I like writing it because while I’m watching/reading something my imagination goes nuts with alternatives of what could happen or could have happened.  So I’m looking to finish some stragglers that are unfinished.  If you want to read the posts on the other blog, just message me for the address to the site and I’ll send it.  But I’m not going to link the 2 blogs.  Sorry.

So my day job is as a Database Developer.  I like it.  It’s challenging, and a lot of time I end up playing Sherlock trying to track down where something came from or why a procedure is doing what it’s doing.  But I don’t just troubleshoot.  I’m on a team of 4 Software Developers and we create the products that the business owner wants us to create.  So I’m create the structures and procedure to store the data and output the data to the Devs so they can make it look pretty.  I started learning T-SQL at the end of 2012 after talking to the head of DBA’s at the company my husband works at and (Feb of 2014) 2 months later of learning I got the job.  Now I worked my butt off to learn T-SQL and get the job, and having my husband work there was actually not good for me because of the whole workplace romance issues that can crop up.  So I really had to prove myself, and I did.  But I really want to get certified as a DBD, but I don’t think there’s a certificate for that so I’ll go for the DBA certificate.  I want some education to help with the on the job experience I’ve gotten.

I’m starting off the year right with this one.  😀  I’m giving you guys the skinny of what’s going to happen this year and I want you to hold me accountable if I don’t follow through.  I want to post AT LEAST once a week to this blog, no matter what the post is as long as it’s an actual post.  I’m not going to post something I think is crap.  That’s not right to me and it’s especially not right to my readers.  But I want to thank you for being here and reading.  In the past I wouldn’t have done half of the things that I’ve done this past year.  I think my next post, by the end of this week, will be a 2014 review of what I’ve done this past year.

I’ve just recently started doing Twitch broadcasts and already have 8 followers… I have no idea how and why these people want to follow me but I’m excited that they do.  My broadcasts have been for Dragon Age: Inquisiton on the PS4.  I’m really loving the game.  The story line is incredible, the maps are huge, the graphics are gorgeous.  I was a DA fan from the first game, and felt let down by the second game even though I still like it.  I won’t go into too much detail because I’m really starting to think I should do a Video Game review post on it.

One of the many things that I’ve taken up is making charms with polymer clay, and surprisingly I’ve had success and people like them.  Which is still a shock to me that people actually like my charms. 😀  And to think it all started with me wanting to have my own pokeball bracelet.  Since then I’ve made a pokeball bracelet, pac man bracelet, yoshi egg bracelet, and have half the charms for my Animal Crossing bracelet.  My hubby got me a trial run airbrush so I can see if I like it.  I love MAKING the charms, but I have to paint them because of all the debris that gets in the charms making them look bad.  And the painting can take so LONG.  So I’ve come to despise painting them, even though it’s a better result.

But anyway, I’ve started selling some of them and I have an Etsy shop partially set up.  I’ve been selling at an event in the area where I live and have gotten some positive feedback, and ideas for other charms to make.  I’m going to go to my first convention in June as a seller but I’ve got to get more stocked on the charms before I go.  I’m excited.  Plus I’ll need to get business cards made.  O.o  So by June I need cards, my Etsy shop completely set up, and my charm stock levels high (though I’m not certain how many of the charms I should have Help?).  I can do it! 😀

I’ve got quite a bit of debt piled up from different things, the newest being my dental bill… -.-  But I won’t be crushed by my debt, it’s going away.  I’ve already got a plan in place to have it all paid off THIS year.  And I can do it.

I’ve done a lot of Tech related stuff this year, with Google I/O and BAMG being only the start.  I’ve met a lot of cool and tech minded people and I want to be more in the know about the way path our Technology is taking.  I want to help other people get into tech.  I also want to help others to be understand the new tech coming out and be more accepting of it.

I believe that I am mostly independent and that since I’m married I can’t be completely independent, but I know that I rely on my husband too much sometimes.  I need to be able to stand on my own two feet.  If I can do that, than if there comes a time I need to support him (HA! Yeah right!) I won’t be crushed by the responsibility of it.  I want to be a strong, independent, married woman and that is possible.

And lastly, I need to remember to relax more often.  I stress easily and drive myself crazy about the smallest things.  I never really take time out for me, I just try to escape.  And escaping is not helping.  I need a day to reset myself and that’s what I intend to do.

Well, that’s all of them.  All of my New Year’s Resolutions. Welcome to the future, I’m taking mine back! How about you? Will you join me in becoming a better version of yourself.  We can do this, and we can definitely do it together.  Last year had some great highs and some really low lows.  But I didn’t try to take more control of my life, that changes.  No more empty broken promises to myself.  This year is my year.  Make it your year too!

Love you guys and gals.

Leave a Reply

Goodreads

Blog Posts

January 2015
S M T W T F S
« Oct   Mar »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 368 other followers

