Mac's Musings

Everything from creative writing to tech today!

Author ranting at her Characters


So this came about because of a post on Sunday Photo Fiction of a boat… I gave it to my writing group as prompt to use during the meeting… And I couldn’t write a blasted thing about the boat… I could just SEE Aiden in my head snickering at me and so this piece came from that… O.o  Yes I am crazy?  Why do you ask?


“It’s a boat.”  Aiden cracked.

“I know it’s a boat.”  I growled.

“You can’t even write something about a boat?  And you call yourself a writer.”  Aiden shook his head.

“Look, it’s a lot harder than you think.”

“Apparently.”  He said sarcastically.

“You’re not helping,” I snap.

“So why even bring me into this, why not bring in Azrael.  She’s your main character.”

“Do I hear jealousy?  And besides… She might be nicer… But she’s not easier to write…  You on the other hand… You take over.”

“Did someone say something about me?”

“Oh my, the Great Arch Angel has appeared.” Aiden feigns reverence.

“Who are you?  And what do you mean Arch Angel?” Azrael glares pointedly at Aiden.

Aiden smiles evilly.  “Aww, that’s not nice.  You mean I know more about her than she knows about herself?”

Azrael looks to me confused. “What’s he talking about?”  She says quietly.

“NOTHING.  Aiden, stop being a troublemaker.”

“Oh, and me, I’m the one taking over your book princess.”

Azrael’s pointed look turns to me.  “He’s taking over my book.”

I shrink under her gaze.  “Well if you were a bit more cooperative to write, then this wouldn’t have happened.”

“Don’t sweat it babe, I have a lot more charisma than you.  People already love me, and they don’t really know you.  It’s not your fault.  She’s just not that great at what she wants to do.” Aiden says pointing at me for the last sentence.

“You know Aiden, I realize you’re not that nice, but you do realize that I’m a kin to God to you.  I made you and I can kill you off.  Don’t make me take a page from George R.R. Martin’s writing.”

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on December 3, 2015 by in Flash Fiction, Short Story.

Goodreads

Blog Posts

December 2015
S M T W T F S
« Mar   Apr »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 365 other followers

